Four Types of Journalists

I like this post from Matt Thompson at Poynter about four types of journalists – the storyteller, the newshound, the systems analyst and the provocateur. I think it might help students understand what type of journalism they like and what type of journalist they want to be. In fact, it might help them a bit better than the standard approach – which tends to focus on platform – i.e. print, radio, TV, online, magazine etc.

I wonder if getting people to do the Myers-Briggs personality test, as Thompson did at Poynter, might help students think a bit about group work too… Might be a difficult sell.

By the way, I think I’m part storyteller, part systems-analyst – though I might try to kid myself occasionally that I’m a provocateur…

Leave a Reply

